38 Weeks I Popped!!

Thursday (December 1st), my life was forever changed. I had just finished posting a blog and decided to do some easy/relaxing yoga. It was during yoga that I started getting bad cramps in my lower back. I was getting Braxton Hicks for the majority of my third trimester, so I did not think much of it. The previous day we (my husband and I) had gone to see my midwife for a check up and she had told us that, since this was my first pregnancy, I would probably go to 40 weeks before delivering. I remember being slightly put off by this-I just wanted to have this baby and was so tired of being pregnant (uncomfortable all the time).

My cramps started getting worse and so I started timing them. Then I started searching the internet looking for “how to know when you are going into labor” and I still wasn’t sure…so next I tried calling my oldest sister (an RN who worked in labor and delivery, also a mom of two) when she did not answer, I called my mom. By this point I am getting anxious and really emotional. My mom, calm and collected, asked me some questions and told me how to check if my cervix had dilated- I estimated it was a three. Then she told me to check myself into the hospital. My husband at this point was packing our overnight bag and on the phone with friends (asking if they could check on our cat and because we were going to the hospital). We were both feeling a little skeptical about whether or not I was going into labor.

At the hospital, after being wheeled in (so embarrassing, I walked in I could have walked myself to the room) I was told to put on a hospital gown and was hooked up to monitors. It turns out I had dilated to a three, but when my midwife was called, I was told to go home and rest.

This was not what I wanted to hear. So two hours later we went back to our apartment. Came home to my husbands friends eating pizza and watching tv. I was not in the mood for this, but I was hungry. I bite of pizza and I started feeling really nauseous. So I drank a protein drink. My contractions were getting worse and I was feeling so miserable.

I got into the bath to help my cramps, but it did not work. The contractions were getting to the point where I was crying and then up came the one bite of pizza and protein drink. I told my husband that we needed to go back because I couldn’t do it.

So we checked ourselves back in (the guy at the desk did not seem to take me very seriously when I told him I was in a lot of pain). As I was hooked up again to the monitors and checked, this time I had dilated to a four in a half- five. (oh my mom could not believe I was sent home after dilating to a three).

My midwife was called again and we were told to walk for an hour. This was the longest hour of my life!! My husband was awesome as he tried making me laugh and keep my mind off the pain. While walking, I had to make multiple trips to the bathroom to vomit because of the pain. It was also during this time that I told Ben (my hubby) that I did not think I could go natural.

The end of the hour finally came and we were taken to a new room. I was also then given an epidural ( I wanted to go natural but the pain was unreal). As the epidural started kicking in, I began to feel so much better. I could still feel pressure from the contractions but there was no sharp pain. Ben and I were then told to relax and to try sleeping. As soon as the nurses left, Ben again was on the phone, I felt a pop happen inside me and felt water. I was pretty sure my water broke and in my high I repeatedly told Ben until he got off the phone. I then nervously/excitedly pressed the red button and told the nurse I thought my water had just broken. In came my midwife and nurses. I told them what had happened and that I felt like pushing. So push I did and 20 minutes later I gave birth to Alina Skye Wallace.

I could not believe , not anyone else, how fast I was able to give birth. Having Alina put on my chest right when she came out, was so surreal. I felt like I was experiencing it as two different people, one who was holding her and as one who was looking as a spectator.

It is so crazy to be a mom, and I am so excited for the journey ahead.

9 thoughts on “38 Weeks I Popped!!

  1. Omg thank you for telling your story! A pregnancy post is not my first reading preference but i couldn’t stop reading! I actually learned a lot too lol. Your husband is so sweet & moms know everythiny lol & congratulations to you guys! Beautiful pics :))

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

