Sleep Decreases Negative Emotions

While looking through Pinterest today, I came across a random psychology fact that getting more sleep decreases a person’s chance of experiencing and being affected by negative emotions. I feel that this stuck out to me so much because I am in the last stretch of my pregnancy and sleep does not always come easy. I have a fitbit that I have been using to track my sleep and it is interesting to me to see how many times I am awake, restless, or in a deep sleep (REM). Yesterday I did not get enough sleep and I did find myself in more of a funk and in a mood where I did not want to be happy. Sleep is so important! I need to do some research to find ways to help me sleep better at night. My fear is that once the baby comes I won’t be able to get much sleep and as a result be more prone to negative emotions. Ugh! Lucky for me, I have a great husband who will be helping me. I honestly have no idea how single parents do it-you are all amazing and I admire you. So my take home message is to get sleep! The world is negative enough, we have to wake up every morning refreshed and ready to fight off the negative Nancys.

Tomorrow’s post will be on how to get better sleep-I need to do some research first.

Until then-Peace!!sleep,

 

 

Leave a Reply

