What is Good Health?

Today is the first of November! Does anyone else feel like this year has flown by? The next two holidays consist of, at least for me, a lot of unhealthy eating. Which brings me to health. I have been writing a lot about health and I feel like I may have gotten ahead of myself. What even does it mean to have good health? Is it a number on a scale? Physical appearance? When I Googled good health I found this definition “Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.” I feel that good health can be defined differently by each person.

For me, having good health means to feel and look good, to have the energy to get through my day, having a positive mind-set, and having good relationships. Feeling good is when I know I am not eating just for calories, but for nutrients. My body is getting the nutrients it needs and I know this by the way I feel-I have energy, I can workout without getting exhausted, I have a clear head (think clearly), and my hair, skin, and nails look healthy. When I wrote good relationships, relationships impact our health sooooo much. As human beings we are natural social beings. I had a professor that would say “stress kills, relationships heal.” This is so true or can be true depending on the relationship. My husband and I get along really well and normally we feed off each other’s attitudes. So when we are both having positive experiences or reacting positively to different situations, we thrive. When one of us is having a bad day it can really drag the other down.

My advice for good health is of course to eat healthy (nutrient dense foods- fruit, vegetables, complex carbs, protein, and stay hydrated with water), then to choose to be happy (great post at this site https://ihavelotsoflemons.wordpress.com/2016/08/09/happy-for-happys-sake/), and then to surround yourself with positive/happy people.

Let the holidays begin!

Peace and Blessings!

Leave a Reply

